Casey’s Kitchen: Five Minute Cookies

My toddler eats cookies every day of his life. Or at least, he thinks he does. Ben is an oatmeal fiend. He would eat it for three meals a day if he could. This is fine, of course. Oatmeal is pretty darn nutritious. What isn’t great, however, are the mix ins I have to add to make it a little bit more palatable. Sometimes it’s honey and sometimes it’s jam. I’m not nuts about the added sugar that comes with either of these. I could certainly just add a bunch of fresh fruit, but I’d prefer to use our fruit for snacks throughout the day. Luckily, I discovered banana oatmeal cookies.

It doesn’t get any easier than these cookies. They take less than five minutes to make and about fifteen minutes to bake. That’s the length of a toddler tantrum!

Preheat the oven to 350°.  Smoosh your bananas until they are pretty smooth. Don’t make purée, though; a few chunks are good.

Waldorf snacks

Why yes, we do have fruit flies! Thanks for asking!

Waldorf snacks

My toddler loves this step!


Add 1/2 cup of oatmeal for every banana, and mix well. You can also add dried fruit, nut butters, chia, or flax at this point. I found that almond butter takes away from some of the sweatness, though. Also, for every two tablespoons of nut butter, add another 1/2 cup of oatmeal.

Waldorf snacks

You can add other ingredients, but you don’t need to.


Plop your “dough” (about a tablespoon) onto a cookie sheet. I recommend that you use a Silpat or parchment paper; these are sticky.

Waldorf snacks

Don’t worry about crowding the cookie sheet; they don’t spread.


Bake for fifteen minutes, or until the bottoms are brown. Let cool on a wire rack.

Waldorf snacks

Enjoy!

Do you see why I love these? They are so simple, my kid devours them, and he isn’t eating any unnecessary sugar. Even a young toddler can help with these cookies. We have worked them into our weekly routine, and make them every Tuesday morning (yes, I know Friday is the official Waldorf Oats Day but Friday is playdate day and also I like to live on the edge). After Tuesday breakfast, I pack the rest up, store them in the fridge, and let my toddler eat cookies whenever he wants. Win-win.

What’s your favorite toddler snack? Please share in the comments!

Don’t forget to visit the shop! We’ve got new kits and our September envelope is filled with autumn treasures.

2 thoughts on “Casey’s Kitchen: Five Minute Cookies

  1. Love this! I made these when tasked with a snack day earlier this year for my oldest daughter’s preschool. I’m glad I’ve been reminded to make them again…for us!

    Like

Leave a Reply

