March Musings and Circle Time

Well, it snowed last week. And it was pretty cold today. Still, we’ve had a couple of warm days, and this morning I noticed that our daffodils are poking out of the dirt near the mud kitchen. We even broke out our Muddy Buddies, and Muddy Buddies mean one thing: spring.

20160228_114938

He looks like a little angry yellow mushroom.

Have you completed the crafts from the March envelope yet? I love my little chicks. In fact, once I finished that last blanket stitch, I couldn’t just put them away for a few weeks. So I decided to be a little preemptive with the nature shelf. They joined my flower fairy and a bunch of green wool in the four seasons tree. And while I was at it, I stuck the Root Children in toilet paper rolls (fancy, I know) and put their dresses on. King Winter was shown the door and I “borrowed” some of the kids’ Holtztiger animals. If the nature shelf says it’s spring, it must be true.

12042706_10102162228363823_2605044818215805793_n

The Root Children woke up!

Ben’s birthday is in April, and so spring is always the time we introduce new elements to our rhythms and routines. Now that’s he’s about to turn three, I’ve been trying to implement a very, very informal circle time. Some days he’s enthralled and other days he ignores me completely (baby Peter thinks I’m hilarious, though). And then I sort of feel ridiculous singing songs and doing finger plays by myself, but that’s okay. I know they are a little young for a true circle time, but I’ve noticed that after breakfast, I tend to rush my kids. We need to get dressed and out to a play date or I’m anxious to start chores. Circle time provides a few moments to focus on my little ones and begin the day slowly and with joy.

We start with everyone’s favorite Waldorf song, Good Morning Dear Earth (the video has a few lovely songs, but GMDE starts at 2:15)

Next, we do a bigger movement activity. I have looked and looked for the source of this verse, but I haven’t had any luck. I think I probably read it on Pinterest. If you know who wrote it, please let me know so I can give proper credit!

Scurry like a squirrel (run in place (or, if you are my son, run away and don’t come back and let your mom look like a dork))

March like a gnome (march in place)

Soar like a little bird when it flies home (stretch arms straight out and make a soaring motion)

Stand straight and tall, rooted like a tree (put arms to sides and stand with good posture)

Stretch to the sun (place palms together in front of your heart, bring palms up over your head and then make big arcs back to your sides)

And shake hands with me (shake hands with children)

Then we sing Spring Is Coming and look at the pictures in Gerda Muller’s Spring book.

 

51GQahSJkvL._SX428_BO1,204,203,200_

If you have older children, this would be a good point to do a little puppet play with the March crafts and Malissa’s Return to Joy story from the March zine. My little guy isn’t quite there yet, so we do these finger plays instead:

We finish up by reciting the verse that I think makes a great family creed:

We are truthful and helpful and loving in trust.
For our heart’s inner sun glows brightly in us.
We will open our hearts to the sunbeams so bright,
And we’ll fill all the world with our heart’s inner light.

And then I rush my kids to a play date or I become anxious to do chores! I hope to continue working on circle time, and I hope that you will join us. Since younger children benefit from (extreme!) repetition, we will stick with the same circle for four weeks, and I will use each month’s Happy Hedgehog Post envelope as inspiration. Please let me know in the comments if and how you observe circle time in your home, and don’t forget to share your crafts on Instagram and in our Facebook group!

The April envelope is now available! 

 

One thought on “March Musings and Circle Time

  1. Pingback: Circle Time With My Ducklings | Happy Hedgehog Post

Leave a Reply

